How Women’s Rights Enabled My Journey as a Mother and Founder

There’s been a lot of debate about women’s rights, and as a founder and CEO of two technology companies, I can confidently say my journey would not have been possible without the reproductive rights I’ve had. We all come from mothers, and protecting women’s rights isn’t just about fairness—it’s necessary to build a stronger and more resilient economy. 

My husband and I married in our twenties. I always knew I wanted to be a mother, but I was also a practical and ambitious engineer. My parents were refugees of the Vietnam War. They came to America with nothing, thanks to the generosity and sponsorship of a Lutheran priest. Over the past 50 years, they worked tirelessly to give my siblings and me a better life, and I am forever grateful for their sacrifices.  However, growing up in a poor immigrant family, I witnessed the stress and constant arguments over money. Summers were especially hard. Unable to afford childcare or camps, my siblings and cousins and I were left alone at home with strict instructions: “Don’t open the door, don’t answer the phone, here’s my number.”

Like my parents, I wanted to give my children a better life than I had, and the only way I could do that was by controlling the timing of motherhood. Birth control allowed me to prevent pregnancy during the years I focused on earning my engineering degree, working as a construction engineer, founding a startup, and leading it as CEO.

I was able to co-found and build my first startup, PlanGrid, over nearly a decade because family planning gave me control over when to start a family. I chose to have children when I could afford it and when I was ready to give them the time and attention they deserved. I became a mom while leading my first startup, PlanGrid, serving as CEO and interim vice president of engineering while pregnant, and breastfeeding during our Series C fundraising. By the time I started my second startup, TigerEye, I had my third child. We closed our seed funding when I was eight months pregnant. 

Every parent knows the first few months of a baby’s life are incredibly challenging. Newborns have tiny stomachs and develop so rapidly that they need to be fed every 2-3 hours, day and night, leaving parents severely sleep-deprived. While the U.S. doesn’t guarantee maternity leave, I was fortunate that PlanGrid offered three months of paid parental leave to its employees. I deeply empathize with all mothers, especially those who must return to work right after giving birth or undergoing a C-section. I can't imagine how they manage without immense pain and sacrifice. I recognize I’ve worked my way to a position of privilege where I have the financial means and medical support to most effectively deal with the hardships of motherhood. The majority of the country does not have that.

I experienced a miscarriage during my second pregnancy. While at work with my team, I felt something slip out of me. Beyond the emotional devastation of losing a pregnancy, there are immediate physical treatments required to prevent complications and infections. Fortunately, I had health insurance and access to good women’s health doctors and nurses, allowing me to receive the best care during one of the most difficult times in my life. I was prescribed Misoprostol to help my body release the remaining tissue, followed by a surgical procedure to remove what was left. Thanks to reproductive rights, my doctors were able to provide timely, necessary care without legal concerns. With the Supreme Court’s decision to overturn Roe vs Wade, many states now have heavy restrictions around prescribing prostaglandin drugs like Misoprostol, as the treatment I was given to maintain my health is similar to early-stage abortion procedures. Some states have gone even further, classifying Misoprostol as a controlled dangerous substance, similar to narcotics. 

I believe true equality in the workplace starts with equality at home. My husband has been my greatest supporter, both as my partner in life and as my cofounder. Together, we’ve built two startups and raised three children, all while maintaining an equal partnership at home. He respects my rights as a woman, and we share household and childcare duties equally. This balance allows me to lead as a CEO while ensuring our family thrives. I know we’re a rare couple who work together professionally, but we are also a good example of how shared responsibility makes being parents and founders possible.

It is challenging to be a mom and a founder. The only effective leverage I have had is by taking care of myself physically, so I can maintain the health and sustained energy required to take care of everything else in my life. If we want to keep women in the workforce, we must recognize the biological differences and support the unique reproductive care women need, regardless of whether or not they have had children. I want our sons and daughters to have the same opportunities — and that starts with equality in every sense.